FOX Toons Sweep Writers Guild Award Animation Nominations


The Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in television, new media, news, radio/audio, and promotional writing during 2018. This year’s animation race belongs entirely to FOX TV series: Bob’s Burgers (three nominations), The Simpsons (two) and Family Guy (one). This includes a second annual consecutive nomination for Lizzie and Wendy Molyneux.

Unlike last year, animation failed to make an appearance in the Children’s Episodic category. There are no entries in the Children’s Long Format or Television Graphic Art and Animation categories.

The 2018 WGA Animation prize went to Kate Purdy for Netflix’s BoJack Horseman, which was nominated twice and up against two episodes of The Simpsons and one of Bob’s Burgers. Another BoJack scribe, Joe Lawson, won in 2017.

Winners will be honored at the 2019 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 17, 2019, at concurrent ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

“Bart’s Not Dead” (The Simpsons), Written by Stephanie Gillis; Fox
“Boywatch” (Bob’s Burgers), Written by Rich Rinaldi; Fox
“Just One of the Boyz 4 Now for Now” (Bob’s Burgers), Written by Lizzie Molyneux & Wendy Molyneux; Fox
“Krusty the Clown” (The Simpsons), Written by Ryan Koh; Fox
“Mo Mommy Mo Problems” (Bob’s Burgers), Written by Steven Davis; Fox
“Send in Stewie, Please” (Family Guy), Written by Gary Janetti; Fox

“Carnivorous Carnival: Part One” (A Series of Unfortunate Events), Teleplay by Joe Tracz; Netflix
“The Ersatz Elevator: Part One” (A Series of Unfortunate Events), Teleplay by Daniel Handler; Netflix
“For The Last Time” (Andi Mack), Written by Jonathan S. Hurwitz; Disney Channel
“Picture Day” (Alexa & Katie), Written by Ray Lancon; Netflix
“Warehouse Towel Fight” fka “Emil Strikes Back” (Prince of Peoria), Written by Marty Donovan; Netflix

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :